The United States Computer Go Championship

US Computer Go Competition History

The earliest computer go competitions were organized at the Usenix conferences in the early 80's.

The Ing Wei-Chi Educational Foundation and Acer sponsored the US Computer Go Championships at the US Go Congress, as preliminaries to their world championship, from 1988 to 1990.

David Fotlandorganized and ran the US competition between 1991 and 2000.

Previous Results


A plaque or certificate, and the admiration of your peers. The last four years there has been prize money available, with prizes for the first four or five places, and a prize for the best new program. In 2000 we had a prize fund generously donated by Bob Myers (the Myers Prize), with prizes of

$1,000, first place
$500, 2nd place
$250, 3rd place
$125, 4th pace
$125, best new program

The AGA or congress organizers may add additional money to the prize fund.
Any program can enter this contest and win prizes, no matter where it is from. The best new program prize will go to the highest finishing program that has not competed in a US computer go championship, Ing Cup, or FOST cup tournament.
The goal of this competition is to encourage computer go development, and see how well the programs play, so in areas not explicitly covered by the rules, the tournament director should make decisions in a way that can allow games to continue.